Meet the Team

BIG Authors


Lead Author

Reshma Singh serves as Program Director of the Department of Energy’s tech-to-market IMPEL program, and previously the Center for Building Energy Research & Development ( at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.




Dale Sartor, P.E., is a staff scientist/engineer at LBNL where he focusses on building efficiency technology applications. He leads projects to develop and transfer new technology and stimulate the use of underutilized technology.




Baptiste Ravache is a Model Development Engineer at Carbon Lighthouse, helping to develop their proprietary software to find and maintain energy savings in commercial buildings.


This work was supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, International Program under Contract No. DE-AC02-05CH11231.

India launched the Energy Conservation Building Code (ECBC) in 2007, and a revised version in 2017 as ambitious first steps towards promoting energy efficiency in the building sector. Pioneering early adopters-—building owners, architecture and engineering firms, and energy consultants—have taken the lead to design customized solutions for their energy-efficient buildings. Building Innovation- A Guide for High-Performance Energy Efficient Buildings in India offers a synthesizing framework, critical lessons, and guidance to meet and exceed ECBC. Its whole-building lifecycle assurance framework provides a user-friendly methodology to achieve high performance in terms of energy, environmental, and societal benefits. Offices are selected as a target typology, being a high-growth sector, with significant opportunities for energy savings. The best practices may be extrapolated to other commercial building sectors, as well as extended to other regions with similar cultural, climatic, construction, and developmental contexts.

Our journey with energy efficiency in Indian buildings started with our collaborators, the Infosys’ Green Initiatives Team and MetroValley Business Park Pvt. Limited. We gratefully acknowledge their collaboration, and pursuit of high performance and low energy impact buildings that has led to an integrated methodology and the creation of this Guide. We are grateful to Rob Sandoli, Sheila Moynihan, Sandra Dickison, and Elena Berger from U.S. Department of Energy for seeding and supporting the Guide. Our gratitude to Lauren Diekman from U.S.-India Business Council (USIBC), Kartikeya Singh from Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS), Sarah Wert from Stanford University, Satish Kumar from Alliance for an Energy Efficient Economy (AEEEE), and Awinash Bawle and Daljit Bains from the California Governor’s Office for their strategic guidance.

We express our sincere appreciation to the following individuals for generously sharing information and insights: Ashok Lall of Ashok B Lall Associates; Nimish Patel of Abhikram, Zeenat Niazi and George Varughese of Development Alternatives; Tanmay Tathagat and Sharanya Rebba of Environmental Design Solutions; Rumi Engineer and Mihir Save of Godrej; Guruprakash Sastry, Swapnil Joshi and Punit Desai of Infosys Green Initiatives Team; Kanagraj Ganesan of Integrative Design Solutions; H C Vinayaka and J C Upadhyay of ITC; Neeraj Kapoor of Kalpakrit Sustainable Environments Private Limited; Bikramjeit Kukreja of Kukreja Associates; Satya Sheel and Jagadeesh Taluri of Metro Valley Business Park Pvt. Ltd; Vikas Rawat of Nirlon; Kamal Meattle of Paharpur Building Center; Saket Sarraf of PS Collective; Alok Kumar of Sears; Ramesh Kapahi of S M Sehgal Foundation, Gian Chand Modgil and Khushboo Modgil of Sterling India Limited; Jitesh Donga from Synefra, Vasudha Lathey of TRC Solutions; Padu S. Padmanabhan, and Apurva Chaturvedi of USAID; Mili Majumdar and Mahesh Ramanujan of U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC); Ankur Thareja formerly from Wipro Ecoenergy. Last but not the least Dr. Bhupinder Singh, Inder Mohini Singh, Inder Monga, Chandan Dang, Jasjit Mangat, and Rahat Khanna for their valuable support.

We gratefully acknowledge our collaborators Vivian Loftness and Rohini Srivastava from Carnegie Mellon University; Gail Brager from the Center for Built Environment, University of California at Berkeley; Prasad Vaidya and Rajan Rawal from the Centre for Environmental Planning and Technology, Ahmedabad; Milind Rane from IIT Bombay; Vishal Garg and Sneha Jain from IIIT-Hyderabad; Paul Mathew, Phil Haves, Christian Kohler, Luis Fernandes, Nihar Shah, Nikit Abhyankar, from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), Girish Ghatikar from the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), Jyotirmay Mathur from Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur; Mahabir Bhandari from Oakridge National Laboratory, and Gayathri Aaditya from Nitte School of Architecture, Bangalore. Last but not the least, a thank you to Yashima Jain and Allison Huey for patiently developing the layouts and graphics.